Follow your passion and improve your skiing, riding, and teaching by pursuing PSIA-AASI credentials. When you earn certification through PSIA-AASI, it illustrates your expertise in ski and snowboard instruction and gives you the tools you need to create positive and fun learning experiences for your students.

PSIA-AASI’s Certification Standards will help you learn about and identify the fundamentals of great skiing and riding, effective teaching.

We’re currently transitioning between using PSIA-AASI’s current Certification Standards and our newly revised Certification Standards, which will be implemented on July 1, 2021. These standards are living documents and are regularly updated to meet the changing needs of our snowsports education environment. You can see both standard sets below and use them to prepare for your assessments next season (2020-21) and to help you transition smoothly to the new standards (beginning Fall 2021).

Listen to this podcast interview with Director of Education Dave Schuiling and PSIA-AASI National Team Coach Jeb Boyd to learn more.

Current PSIA-AASI Certification Standards:

PSIA-AASI offers Level I, II, and III certifications for these disciplines:

PSIA-AASI Certification Standards measure learning outcomes – statements that specify what you will know and be able to demonstrate after achieving certification – and show you have the skills to teach successful snowsports lessons. Certifications represent a standard of consistent competency through three zones; beginner/novice, intermediate, and advanced/expert. A PSIA-AASI certification validates your training from the leading snowsports education association and affirms you’re a professional in the snowsports industry.

Current PSIA-AASI Specialist Standards

PSIA-AASI Specialist credentials are assessment-based certificate programs. Achieving the credential’s learning outcomes means you have met the assessment criteria.  A Level I certification from an above discipline is a prerequisite for specialist standards.

Children’s Specialist

Children’s Specialist Standards

Freestyle Specialist

Freestyle Specialist Standards

New Certification Standards for 2021-2022 Season

During the past four years, PSIA-AASI’s Education Leadership Council (ELC) led a team of discipline-specific taskforces, which consisted of volunteers from PSIA-AASI’s eight divisions, to establish revised Certification Standards. More than 60 education leaders from across the country reviewed and revised PSIA-AASI’s Certification Standards to ensure consistency within and between all divisions. This strategic alignment initiative also involves a long-term partnership with Pennsylvania State University to accredit the standards for academic learning and consistent assessment. Also, PSIA-AASI’s standards will be recognized for skill set transferability and credit application to future degree programs. The development of a snowsports education institute will foster ongoing research and development education practices. The partnership solidifies the PSIA-AASI certification system and validates the credibility of the credentials.

In June 2020, PSIA-AASI’s Board of Directors approved the Alpine and Snowboard Certification Standards. During the rest of this year, PSIA-AASI’s Board of Directors will review and approve the Cross Country and Telemark Certification Standards, then the Children’s and Freestyle Specialist Certificate programs and finally the Adaptive Standards, completing the PSIA-AASI certification system of standards.

For the first time in PSIA-AASI’s history, Certification Standards will be consistent across every discipline and all eight PSIA-AASI divisions creating a consistent assessment system for all PSIA-AASI members. The updated PSIA-AASI Certification Standards will identify the fundamentals of great skiing and snowboarding, effective teaching, and connecting with students, identified in the Learning Connection model.

The framework of the above Learning Connection Model provides a balance between the common elements and skill sets that make a great instructor – people skills, teaching skills, and technical skills. These skills can be applied to a variety of technical and tactical decisions based on a student’s ability, motivation, and more.

New PSIA-AASI Certification Standards

These will be used for the 2021-2022 season:

Common Language of Learning Outcomes and Assessment

PSIA-AASI Certification Standards rely upon the following Learning Outcome Framework to create a consistent language for your assessment. The learning outcomes clearly state what you will be able to demonstrate after you successfully complete your certification assessment.

Learning outcomes represent what is to be achieved upon completion of each level of certification. Learning outcomes do not vary between examiners or divisions.

These are the training experiences – or tasks – that lead to achievement of the learning outcome. NOTE: The learning experiences listed in these documents are recommendations of what you may do in order to gain the knowledge and understanding relative to the given subject area. These are not requirements; they are suggested approaches to aid you in their development as professional snowsports educators.

Representing how you’ll be assessed, these are the activities you’ll need to perform to demonstrate that learning has occurred. (These have historically been described as tasks or maneuvers.) NOTE: The assessment activities listed in these documents are recommendations of what an examiner may use to assess your knowledge and understanding relative to the given subject area. The examiner is free to use variations and alternatives. Those listed provide an idea of how an assessment can be conducted.

Representing the “level of standard,” assessment criteria outline performance details that specify to what level the learning outcomes have been met. This does not vary between examiners or divisions.

Throughout the PSIA-AASI professional development and certification system, all assessment criteria are measured through this 6-point assessment scale:

  1. Essential elements are not observed or not present.
  2. Essential elements are beginning to appear.
  3. Essential elements appear, but not with consistency.
  4. Essential elements appear regularly at a satisfactory level.
  5. Essential elements appear frequently, above the required level.
  6. Essential elements appear continuously, at a superior level.